People have spoken, and Twitter has caved: the controversial “For You” timeline is no longer the default on any platform.
In January, Twitter began displaying the “For You” algorithmic timeline by default on web and mobile. Users still had the option to jump to the “Following” timeline, which shows a chronological list of tweets from the accounts you follow, but if you closed the Twitter app and reopened it again, “For You” would display at new by default.
Many users (including us) did not appreciate(Opens in a new tab) a lot, and Twitter recently gave in to defaulting to whatever timeline you last chose, but only on the web(Opens in a new tab). Now the company has updated its iOS and Android apps with the same features.
The tweet may have been deleted
(opens in a new tab)
(Opens in a new tab)
When you start the Twitter app on iOS or Android, you’ll now see the timeline view you last chose. To see the change, you’ll need to update to the latest version of the Twitter app on iOS and Android.
It still doesn’t work perfectly, though. If you have a list (which shows up in another timeline view, next to “For you” and “Following”), and you close the Twitter app and reopen it, boom: you’ll still be back in the dreaded “For You” Algorithmic Timeline. Maybe an option in the settings to always switch to the desired timeline view would be a better way to do that, Twitter.